Anne Van Dam from the Netherlands claimed her second LETAS title with a three shot victory at the CitizenGuard LETAS Trophy.

Van Dam trailed overnight leaders Daisy Nielsen and Charlotte Thompson by one shot going into the final day’s play. Nielsen played strongly over the opening nine holes, recording 4 birdies and one bogey to remain one stroke ahead of the Dutchwoman.

A birdie at the 10th extended Nielsen’s lead to two shots until a bogey on the 11th followed by a double bogey on the 12th gave Van Dam a slender one stroke advantage.

Van Dam finished strongly with three birdies on the final three holes, which Nielsen was unable to match. The 20-year-old from Arnhem posted a 12 under par total and was pleased to be in the winner’s circle again.

"It's great, winning is always great. Daisy was putting up the gas, like the front nine I think she was 4 under or something. I didn't really look at the scores. She was playing so well I just thought I have to play well and try to get a little bit closer."

"She got a bit unlucky on the back nine, two bad swings and two bad breaks and suddenly I knew, well, I might be close to the lead now. But I just said to myself the last three holes, just make three birdies and to make two really good up and downs and one good two putt was under the circumstances really good."

Nielsen finished in a tie for second place with France’s Justin Dreher, who closed with a 5 under par, 68, to finish at 9 under par. Fellow Frenchwoman Ariane Provot recorded the low round of the day, a 66, for 8 under and fourth place.

Joint overnight leader England’s Charlotte Thompson finished with a level par 73 and 5th position at -7. Spanish amateur Luna Sobron shot 71 for a 6 under total, 213, and 6th place.

Fellow Spanish amateur Maria Parra’s tied 11th place was good enough to move her to the top of the LETAS Order of Merit, ahead of Scot Michele Thomson, who finished in a tie for 27th.

The LET Access Series now moves back to Sweden for the Norrporten Ladies Open, which takes place from the 3 – 5 August at Sundsvall Golf Club.


Click here for the leaderboard